Florida Voters Support 97% of Florida Chamber-Backed Legislative Candidates


Megan Sweat, Media Relations Manager

Florida Voters Support 97% of Florida Chamber-Backed Legislative Candidates

12 of 12 in the Senate and 74 of 77 in the House — Elected pro-jobs candidates will help secure Florida’s future


TALLAHASSEE, FL (November 3, 2020) – Continuing a positive track record of helping to elect pro-jobs candidates, the Florida Chamber of Commerce and our members helped deliver election wins for 86 of 89 Chamber-backed candidates. This diverse group of candidates have committed to securing Florida’s future by focusing on free enterprise principles and job creation for local employers and their communities, while working to fix Florida’s broken and unfair lawsuit abuse problem.

“Congratulations to Senate President Designate Wilton Simpson, House Speaker Designate Chris Sprowls and the 97% of Florida Chamber pro-jobs candidates who won their races,” said Mark Wilson, President and CEO, Florida Chamber of Commerce. “As we unite business for good, we trust those elected will make great strides in safeguarding the strength of our economy and making Florida’s business climate even more competitive. We are already uniting Florida’s business leaders for the 2022 statewide election as Florida’s future continues to become even more important.”

The Florida Chamber constantly strives to recruit better candidates for the legislature and 2020 was a very successful year for growing our collective effort. Here are a few highlights from this election cycle:

  • This cycle, the Florida Chamber endorsed over 90 legislative candidates, backing their candidacies with financial resources and substantial voter educative efforts.
  • In the past few months, over one-hundred million dollars was spent to win Florida’s legislative races. Campaigns are getting more expensive which is why the Florida Chamber recently launched the Free Enterprise Fund – a member-driven fund to elect pro-jobs candidates for Florida’s future.
  • With 1.56 million more registered voters since the 2016 Presidential election, Florida’s electorate continues to grow and evolve as Florida remains the nation’s most important battleground state.

Ahead of the General Election, the Florida Chamber of Commerce released its 2020 Candidate Election Guide, a guide of the candidates and amendments that support job creation, growing the economy and securing Florida’s future, to serve as a resource to Florida voters.

“A very special thank you to our Florida Chamber members for making the resources available to help Florida move in a pro-jobs direction and we congratulate these candidates for their success; we trust that they will work tirelessly on behalf of all Floridians,” added Nick Catroppo, Vice President of Political Operations, Florida Chamber of Commerce. “The Chamber will continue to unify Florida business for good and we look forward to working with these legislators throughout the coming years.”

The Florida Chamber was proud to stand alongside the following Chamber-backed election winners, putting its near 150 years of combined political experience behind supporting them in the months and sometimes years preceding this election.

Senate Election Endorsements:
District 1: Senator Doug Broxson
District 5: Jennifer Bradley
District 7: Senator Travis Hutson
District 9: Jason Brodeur
District 11: Senator Randolph Bracy
District 17: Senator Debbie Mayfield
District 20: Danny Burgess
District 21: Jim Boyd
District 23: Senator Joe Gruters
District 25: Senator Gayle Harrell
District 27: Ray Rodrigues
District 39: Ana Maria Rodriguez

House Election Endorsements:
District 1: Michelle Salzman
District 2: Representative Robert Alexander “Alex” Andrade
District 3: Representative Jayer Williamson
District 4: Patt Maney
District 6: Representative Jay Trumbull
District 7: Representative Jason Shoaf
District 10: Representative Robert Charles “Chuck” Brannan III
District 11: Representative Cord Byrd
District 12: Representative Clay Yarborough
District 15: Representative Wyman Duggan
District 16: Representative Jason Fischer
District 17: Representative Cyndi Stevenson
District 18: Sam Garrison
District 19: Representative Bobby Payne
District 21: Representative Charles Wesley “Chuck” Clemons, Sr.
District 22: Joe Harding
District 23: Representative Stan McClain
District 24: Representative Paul Renner
District 25: Representative Thomas J. “Tom” Leek
District 26: Representative Elizabeth Anne Fetterhoff
District 27: Webster Barnaby
District 28: Representative David Smith
District 29: Representative Scott Plakon
District 31: Keith Truenow
District 32: Representative Anthony Sabatini
District 33: Representative Brett Thomas Hage
District 34: Representative Ralph E. Massullo, MD
District 35: Representative Blaise Ingoglia
District 36: Representative Amber Mariano
District 37: Representative Ardian Zika
District 38: Representative Randy Maggard
District 39: Representative Josie Tomkow
District 40: Representative Colleen Burton
District 41: Representative Sam H. Killebrew
District 42: Fred Hawkins
District 50: Representative Rene “Coach P” Plasencia
District 51: Representative Tyler I. Sirois
District 52: Representative Thad Altman
District 53: Representative Randy Fine
District 55: Kaylee Tuck
District 56: Representative Melony M. Bell
District 57: Representative Mike Beltran
District 58: Representative Lawrence McClure
District 60: Representative Jackie Toledo
District 65: Speaker Designate Chris Sprowls
District 66: Representative Nick DiCeglie
District 67: Representative Chris Latvala
District 71: Representative William Cloud “Will” Robinson, Jr.
District 72: Fiona McFarland
District 73: Representative Tommy Gregory
District 74: Representative James Buchanan
District 75: Representative Michael Grant
District 76: Adam Botana
District 77: Mike Giallombardo
District 78: Jenna Persons
District 79: Representative Spencer Roach
District 80: Lauren Melo
District 83: Representative Toby Overdorf
District 84: Dana Trabulsy
District 85: Representative Rick Roth
District 89: Representative Mike Caruso
District 93: Representative Chip LaMarca
District 103: Tom Fabricio
District 105: David Borrero
District 106: Representative Bob Rommel
District 110: Alex Rizo
District 111: Representative Bryan Avila
District 112: Representative Nicholas X. Duran
District 114: Demi Busatta Cabrera
District 115: Representative Vance Arthur Aloupis, Jr.
District 116: Representative Danny Perez
District 118: Representative Anthony Rodriguez
District 119: Representative Juan Alfonso Fernandez-Barquin
District 120: James “Jim” Vernon Mooney Jr.


Established in 1916 as Florida’s first statewide business advocacy organization, the Florida Chamber of Commerce is the voice of business and the state’s largest federation of employers, chambers of commerce and associations aggressively representing small and large businesses from every industry and every region. The Florida Chamber works within all branches of government to affect those changes set forth in the annual Florida Business Agenda, and which are seen as critical to secure Florida’s future. The Florida Chamber works closely with its Florida Political Operations and the Florida Chamber Foundation. Visit for more information.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button