Constitution Revision Commission

Florida House Speaker Corcoran Names Constitution Revision Commission Appointees

Florida Speaker of the House Richard Corcoran today appointed nine members to the upcoming Constitution Revision Commission (CRC), a 37-member body that convenes every 20 years to review the Florida Constitution and has the power to place proposed amendments directly on the voting ballot. These nine appointees join others named by Governor Rick Scott, Senate President Joe Negron and Chief Justice of the Florida Supreme Court Jorge Labarga over the past several weeks. Attorney General Pam Bondi is an automatic member of the CRC and Gov. Scott’s pick for Chairman of the Commission is Carlos Beruff, a Bradenton real estate developer and 2016 Senate candidate.

Speaker Corcoran’s Appointees Are:

  • Rep. Jose Felix Diaz (R-Miami)
  • Erika Donalds, member of the Collier County School Board
  • Sen. Tom Lee (R-Brandon), former Senate President
  • Rich Newsome, Orlando attorney
  • Chris Nocco, Pasco County Sheriff
  • Speaker Pro Tempore Jeanette Nuñez (R-Miami)
  • Sen. Darryl Rouson (D-St. Petersburg)
  • Rep. Chris Sprowls (R-Clearwater)
  • John Stemberger, Orlando attorney

Gov. Scott’s Appointees Are:

  • Dr. Jose Armas, Miami physician
  • Lisa Carlton, former State Senator and Representative
  • Timothy Cerio, Tallahassee attorney and former General Counsel to Gov. Scott
  • Emery Gainey,  Director of Law Enforcement, Victim Services & Criminal Justice Programs with the Office of the Attorney General.
  • Brecht Heuchan, Founder and CEO of ContributionLink, LLC
  • Marva Johnson, Regional Vice President of State Government Affairs for Charter Communications
  • Darlene Jordan, Executive Director of the Gerald R. Jordan Foundation
  • Fred Karlinsky, Co-Chair of Greenberg Traurig’s Insurance Regulatory and Transactions Practice Group
  • Belinda Keiser, Vice Chancellor of Keiser University; Member, Florida Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors
  • Frank Kruppenbacher, Orlando attorney
  • Dr. Gary Lester, Vice President for Community Relations of The Villages
  • Jimmy Patronis, Commissioner on the Florida Public Service Commission
  • Pam Stewart, Commissioner of the Florida Department of Education
  • Nicole Washington, State Policy Consultant for the Lumina Foundation


 President Negron’s Appointees Are:

  •  Anna Marie Hernandez Gamez, Coral Gables attorney and past President of the Cuban American Bar Association
  • Don Gaetz, former Florida Senate President
  • Patricia Levesque, former Legislative Policy Director for Education and Deputy Chief of Staff for Gov. Jeb Bush
  • Sherry Plymale, former Chair of the State Board of Community Colleges and current Chief of Staff to Education Commissioner Frank Brogan
  • Bill Schifino Jr., Tampa attorney and current President of the Florida Bar
  • Chris Smith, Fort Lauderdale lawyer and former Democratic leader in the Florida House and Senate
  • Bob Solari, former citrus, real estate and financial planning businessman and current Vero Beach City Council member
  • Jacqui Thurlow-Lippisch, former middle and high school teacher and current City Commissioner and Mayor of Sewall’s Point
  • Carolyn Timmann, Martin County Comptroller and Clerk of Circuit Court and former Legislative Assistant to Rep. Tom Warner and Executive Deputy Chief of Staff to Govs. Bush and Charlie Crist

Chief Justice Labarga’s Appointees Are:

  • Hank Coxe, Jacksonville attorney and former President of the Florida Bar
  • Arthenia Joyner, Tampa attorney and former member of the Florida House and Florida Senate
  • Roberto Martinez, Coral Gables attorney and former U.S. Attorney

Get Involved

To learn more about the CRC, including biographical information about the individual appointees as they are announced, click here or contact Plan to attend the Florida Chamber’s 2017 Capitol Days from March 21-23 to hear an exclusive presentation from our CRC Panel.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button