Florida Chamber of Commerce Releases General Election Endorsements

Endorses 79 Candidates to Help Make Florida More Competitive

Tallahassee, Fla. (Sept. 22, 2016) – The Florida Chamber of Commerce today announced 79 candidate endorsements for the November 8th General Election.

“We believe these candidates will put Florida’s long-term future ahead of short-term fixes and will help ensure our state remains competitive,” said MARIAN JOHNSON, Senior Vice President of Political Operations for the Florida Chamber of Commerce. “We are proud to support these candidates that we believe will help create jobs and economic opportunity in our state.”

After interviewing more than 200 candidates running in competitive House and Senate races, 76 of the 88 Florida Chamber-backed candidates were victorious during Florida’s primary election – winning outright or moving on to the General Election. Expanding on the Florida Chamber’s stepped-up political activity of engaging early and aggressively during the 2016 election cycle is today’s General Election endorsement of 79 candidates.

In addition to its significant digital advertising investments, television advertisements and mail-box mailers for candidates, the Florida Chamber’s 2016 Election Guide provides voters information on all races appearing on the November 8th ballot – from top of the ticket to the open U.S. Senate seat, 27 congressional races, all 40 senate and 120 house seats, as well as four proposed constitutional amendments that will appear on the ballot. The 2016 Election Guide is part of the Florida Chamber’s larger GOTV efforts.

The Florida Chamber’s General Election endorsements include the following:

Florida Senate


Florida House of Representatives


Congratulations to the following Florida Chamber-endorsed elected officials who have won their General Election already:

Florida Senate

  • District 2: George Gainer (R)
  • District 4: Senator Aaron Bean (R) – Incumbent
  • District 9: Senator David Simmons (R) – Incumbent
  • District 10: Senator Wilton Simpson (R) – Incumbent
  • District 20: Senator Tom Lee (R) – Incumbent
  • District 21: Senator Bill Galvano (R) – Incumbent
  • District 26: Senator Denise Grimsley (R) – Incumbent
  • District 29: Representative Kevin Rader (R)

Florida House

  • District 3: Jayer Williamson (R)
  • District 7: Representative Halsey Beshears (R) – Incumbent
  • District 17: Representative Cyndi Stevenson (R) – Incumbent
  • District 20: Representative Clovis Watson (D) – Incumbent
  • District 22: Representative Charlie Stone (R) – Incumbent
  • District 32: Representative Larry Metz (R) – Incumbent
  • District 37: Representative Richard Corcoran (R) – Incumbent
  • District 44: Representative Eric Eisnaugle (R) – Incumbent
  • District 55: Representative Cary Pigman (R) – Incumbent
  • District 57: Representative Jake Raburn (R) – Incumbent
  • District 71: Representative Jim Boyd (R –Incumbent
  • District 75: Michael Grant (R)
  • District 81: Senator Joe Abruzzo (D)
  • District 84: Representative Larry Lee, Jr. (D) – Incumbent
  • District 87: David Silvers (D)
  • District 88: Al Jacquet (D)
  • District 89: Representative Bill Hager (R) – Incumbent
  • District 98: Representative Katie Edwards (D) – Incumbent

For more information, visit the Florida Chamber’s election page at www.FloridaChamber.com/Election.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button