Florida Chamber of Commerce Endorsed Primary Candidates Win in 21 of 23 Races


Florida Chamber of Commerce Endorsed Primary Candidates Win in 21 of 23 Races
2 of 2 Senate, 19 of 21 in House

TALLAHASSEE, FL (August 18, 2020) After reviewing 151 candidates vying for Primary election wins across the state, the Florida Chamber of Commerce made 23 endorsements, helping to deliver primary victories for 21 of 23 endorsed candidates today. This diverse group of Florida Chamber-backed candidates have committed to securing Florida’s future by focusing on free enterprise principles and job creation for local businesses, while working to fix Florida’s broken and unfair legal system.

“The Florida Chamber has a long-standing reputation of endorsing incumbents and candidates who unite Florida’s business community to help make Florida more competitive,” said Mark Wilson, President and CEO, Florida Chamber of Commerce. “We are proud to have successfully endorsed these leaders who will advance commonsense, pro-business efforts to further economic opportunity for all Floridians.”

In the coming days, the Florida Chamber of Commerce will be releasing its 2020 Candidate Election Guide for Chamber members to share with their employees.  

“These incumbents and candidates are staunch advocates for Florida business and are committed to helping build a stable and predictable business climate,” added Nick Catroppo, Vice President of Political Operations, Florida Chamber of Commerce. “We’re proud to stand by their side in the race to November as they continue to champion innovative solutions to move Florida forward.”

The Florida Chamber stands alongside the following primary winners, and is putting its full 100-plus years of combined political experience behind getting them elected in the General Election.

Senate Primary Election Winners:
District 21: Jim Boyd
District 27: Ray Rodrigues

House Primary Election Winners:
District 2: Representative Robert Alexander “Alex” Andrade
District 6: Representative Jay Trumbull
District 12: Representative Clay Yarborough
District 29: Representative Scott Plakon
District 31: Keith Truenow
District 42: Fred Hawkins
District 43: Kristen Arrington
District 44: Bruno Portigliatti
District 52: Representative Thad Altman
District 53: Representative Randy Fine
District 76: Adam Botana
District 77: Mike Giallombardo
District 78: Jenna Persons
District 79: Representative Spencer Roach
District 80: Lauren Melo
District 84: Dana Trabulsy
District 103: Tom Fabricio
District 107: Christopher Benjamin
District 116: Representative Danny Perez


Established in 1916 as Florida’s first statewide business advocacy organization, the Florida Chamber of Commerce is the voice of business and the state’s largest federation of employers, chambers of commerce and associations aggressively representing small and large businesses from every industry and every region. The Florida Chamber works within all branches of government to affect those changes set forth in the annual Florida Business Agenda, and which are seen as critical to secure Florida’s future. The Florida Chamber works closely with its Florida Political Operations and the Florida Chamber Foundation. Visit for more information.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button