Site icon Florida Chamber of Commerce

Florida Chamber of Commerce Unveils 2023 How They Voted, Naming Representative Tommy Gregory as Most Valuable Legislator

Today, the Florida Chamber of Commerce unveiled its 2023 How They Voted. A comprehensive review of what passed this legislative session, what didn’t, and what remains unfinished business, How They Voted reveals the Florida Chamber’s 2023 Legislative Report Card, showcasing grades earned by all 159 legislators in the Florida House and Senate based on their votes during the 2023 Legislative Session, and recognizes the Florida Chamber’s Most Valuable Legislator and Distinguished Advocates.

“Florida welcomes $4.48M per hour, and a unified business community is how we will keep Florida’s economy growing and competitive,” said Florida Chamber of Commerce President & CEO Mark Wilson. “I want to thank Governor Ron DeSantis, Senate President Kathleen Passidomo, Speaker Paul Renner and the pro-jobs legislators who continued to put Florida’s business climate first by prioritizing the growth of private sector jobs and diversifying our economy.

Representative Tommy Gregory has been named the 2023 Florida Chamber of Commerce’s Most Valuable Legislator, the business community’s premier legislative award, for his leadership in rebalancing Florida’s civil justice system and strengthening Florida’s competitiveness through historic lawsuit abuse reform. As Chair of the House Judiciary Committee, Representative Gregory worked tirelessly to ensure the passage of HB 837, a generational lawsuit abuse reform package that will improve Florida’s bottom-five legal climate and reduce the more than $5,000 in lawsuit abuse taxes that each family pays in the form of higher-priced goods and services.


In addition, the Florida Chamber awarded 22 Legislators the 2023 Distinguished Advocate Award. The Florida Chamber’s Distinguished Advocate Award recognizes lawmakers who ensured consideration of the business community’s legislative priorities and fought tirelessly for the passage of a Chamber-backed policy or a priority piece of pro-jobs legislation. For a full description of the leadership each legislator exhibited to earn the distinction, click here.

2023 Distinguished Advocate Recipients:

Senator Jim Boyd

Senator Alexis Calatayud

Senator Nick DiCeglie

Senator Travis Hutson

Senate President Kathleen Passidomo

Senator Corey Simon

Senator Linda Stewart

Senator Jay Trumbull

Senator Clay Yarborough

Representative Alex Andrade

Representative Dean Black

Representative Robbie Brackett

Representative Demi Busatta Cabrera

Representative Wyman Duggan

Representative Tom Fabricio

Representative Griff Griffitts

Representative Tom Leek

Representative Stan McClain

Representative Lauren Melo

House Speaker Paul Renner

Representative Dana Trabulsy

Representative Kaylee Tuck


The Florida Chamber’s 2023 Legislative Report Card is an annual opportunity to recognize members of the Florida Legislature who placed making Florida more competitive through support for free enterprise over special interests and attempts to protect the status quo.  The Report Card also lets Florida families, small businesses, taxpayers and voters know who voted in favor of private sector job creation and a stronger, more diversified economy.

After tabulating 5,819 votes cast during the 2023 Legislative Session, the Florida Chamber’s Legislative Report Card shows:

Lawmakers who earned high grades this legislative session focused on important competitiveness issues such as:


To see the grades received by each of Florida’s 159 Legislators following the 2023 Legislative Session, visit

Exit mobile version